79.2 F
Thursday, September 23, 2021

Candidate field set for upcoming Ocala City Council election

The candidate field has been set for the upcoming Ocala City Council election.

According to the Marion County Supervisor of Elections’ Office, a total of 15 candidates will run for four open seats on the Ocala City Council and the mayor’s office.

For mayor, Manal Fakhoury is running against Kent Guinn. County records show that Guinn has raised $10,450 for his campaign.

For the District 1 seat, Brent Malever will run for reelection against Barry Mansfield, whose monetary contributions are higher than any other candidate across all of races at $27,750. Malever has raised a total of $23,650.

In District 3, Russell Juergens and Ty Schlichter will run against Jay Musleh, who has raised $17,010 in his reelection efforts. Schlichter has raised $21,115 in monetary contributions and another $3,100.33 of in-kind contributions.

In District 5, Justin Grabelle will not seek reelection. That seat will be contested by James Hilty and Greg Steen. Steen has currently raised just under $24,000 in total contributions, while Hilty has raised $3,100.

The District 4 seat, which will be vacated by Matthew Wardell, will be filled by special election. A total of six candidates are running for the seat: Kristen Dreyer, Alexander Everts, Barbara Fitos, Lori Martin Gregory, Curtis Jones, and Kevin Lopez.

The cut-off for contributions to any candidates is September 16, 2021.

The general election will take place on Tuesday, September 21. If necessary, a run-off election will be held on Tuesday, November 16.

The candidates that are elected will assume office on Tuesday, December 7.

For more information on the upcoming election, including voter information, visit the City of Ocala election information webpage.