74 F
Thursday, November 25, 2021

Marion County School Board elects new chairman, vice-chairwoman

The Marion County School Board elected a new chairman and vice-chairwoman during its annual reorganization last week.

During a meeting on Tuesday, November 16, the school board members nominated Eric Cummings and Allison Campbell for the role of chairman.

The board members held a vote and Cummings was selected as the next chairman for the second time in three years after receiving three of the five votes. Campbell received the remaining two votes.

Newly elected chairman, Eric Cummings (District 3) and vice-chairwoman, Allison Campbell (District 1)

All board members were in favor of selecting Campbell as vice-chairwoman, and she was appointed after a unanimous vote.

Cummings was elected to the school board in November 2018. He resides in Dunnellon and represents District 3. The schools within his district are College Park Elementary, Dr. N. H. Jones Elementary, Dunnellon Elementary, Dunnellon High, Dunnellon Middle, Hammett Bowen, Jr. Elementary, Horizon Academy at Marion Oaks, Howard Middle, Liberty Middle, Marion Oaks Elementary, Marion Technical College, Romeo Elementary, Saddlewood Elementary, Sunrise Elementary, and West Port High.

In 2020, Campbell joined the school board. She has resided in Ocala for nearly 20 years, and she represents District 1. Her district includes Eighth Street Elementary, Forest High, Greenway Elementary, Lake Weir High, Madison Street Academy, Marion Technical Institute, Osceola Middle, Shady Hill Elementary, South Ocala Elementary, and Wyomina Park Elementary.

The Marion County School Board meets at 5:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at the School Board Meeting Room located at 512 SE 3rd Street in Ocala.