81.1 F
Friday, July 29, 2022

Florida Sheriffs Association announces new board for 2022-2023, Marion County Sheriff named Chairman

Marion County Sheriff Billy Woods has been appointed as the new Chairman of the Florida Sheriffs Association (FSA) for the 2022-2023 year.

The FSA, which is one of the largest and most successful law enforcement associations in the United States, recently announced its leadership for the 2022-2023 year:

  • President – Hernando County Sheriff Al Nienhuis.
  • Vice President – Nassau County Sheriff Bill Leeper.
  • Secretary – Charlotte County Sheriff Bill Prummell.
  • Treasurer – Seminole County Sheriff Dennis Lemma.
  • Immediate Past President – Levy County Sheriff Bobby McCallum.
  • Chairman – Marion County Sheriff Billy Woods.
  • Vice-Chairman – Flagler County Sheriff Rick Staly.
Florida Sheriffs Association announces new board for 2022 2023 Marion County Sheriff appointed as chairman 1
Marion County Sheriff Billy Woods will serve as Chairman of the Florida Sheriffs Association for the 2022-2023 year

During the past year, Sheriff Woods served as the FSA Vice-Chairman.

The newly elected FSA President, Sheriff Nienhuis, will work with the staff and board of directors to guide the efforts and direction of the association and its 67 sheriffs.

Sheriff Nienhuis kicked off his career as a special agent at the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco, State of Florida from 1989 until 2001, and he rose through the ranks to serve as Captain of the Fort Myers District. Beginning in 2001 through 2010, he was the undersheriff for the Pasco Sheriff’s Office.

In January 2011, Nienhuis was appointed Sheriff of Hernando County, and he was then elected Sheriff of Hernando County in 2012. He was re-elected in 2016 (unopposed) and again in 2020.

“In Hernando County, we have two simultaneous responsibilities as we interact with our community. The first is to maintain the safety of the county, which we take seriously. Just as important, however, is our second task of making our citizens feel safe,” said Sheriff Nienhuis.

Sheriff Nienhuis served as Vice President of the FSA under Levy County Sheriff Bobby McCallum this past year, and he has served in several other leadership positions within the association.

“It is an honor to serve as the president of the Florida Sheriffs Association. As the third most populous state in the U.S., Florida is quite diverse, and I take great pride in working with my fellow sheriffs as a team so our residents and visitors are safe and happy,” added Sheriff Nienhuis.

FSA Executive Director Steve Casey stated, “The number one thing that makes the Florida Sheriffs Association successful is our leadership and the support and backing of our great state’s 67 sheriffs. The Office of Sheriff in Florida was built on integrity, and that integrity, paired with responsibility and leadership, are the foundation of our association’s vision to protect every visitor and Floridian.”