44.7 F
Saturday, February 4, 2023

Florida Fallen Firefighter Memorial at Downtown Ocala Square on November 17

Uniformed firefighters from across the state of Florida will gather at the Downtown Ocala Square on Thursday, November 17 to honor fallen firefighters with a pipe and drum display.

The 14th annual Florida Fallen Firefighter Memorial ceremony will honor the following firefighters who lost their lives in the line of duty:

  • Dennis Sams – Satellite Beach Fire Rescue (1977).
  • Omar Bishr – City of Naples Fire Rescue (2017).
  • David R. Anken – Florida Forrest Service (2019).
  • Dustin C. Schieber – Seminole County Fire Department (2020).
  • Scott E. Allender – Melbourne Fire Department (2021).
  • Randell D. Burnham – Lake City Fire Department (2021).
  • Giovanni Ciancio – Hillsborough County Fire Rescue (2021).
  • Michael L. Freeland – Jacksonville Fire and Rescue Department (2021).
  • David H. Hackett – Hernando County Fire and Emergency Services (2021).
  • Mario J. Moya – Jacksonville Fire and Rescue Department (2021).
  • Mitchell R. Weldon – Cocoa Fire Rescue (2021).
  • Christopher Allen – Hollywood Fire and Rescue (2022).
  • Douglas Clemons – Polk County Fire Rescue (2022).
  • James S. Hunt – Melbourne Fire Department (2022).
  • James N. Leonard – Coral Springs-Parkland Fire Department (2022).
  • George B. Newsome – Walton County Fire Rescue (2022).
Fallen Firefighter Memorial walk
The Walk of Honor parade during last year’s Florida Fallen Firefighter Memorial (Photo courtesy of Ocala Fire Rescue)

This Thursday, at 7 p.m., a Walk of Honor will be made through the streets of the downtown square, beginning at the intersection of E Silver Springs Boulevard and SE Magnolia Avenue. The walk will include Honor Guard teams from throughout the state, along with music provided by pipes and drums.

Immediately following the parade, a gathering will be held at Bank Street Patio Bar, which is located within walking distance from the square at 120 E Fort King Street.

For more information, please contact Battalion Chief / Honor Guard Commander Pamela Fallen-Driggers via email at: [email protected].