Monday, September 28, 2020
73.1 F
Ocala

Florida shows 947.9% increase in COVID-19 cases since governor reopened state

In the roughly three months since Gov. Ron DeSantis greenlighted Phase Two of his plan to reopen Florida, the Sunshine State has seen a whopping 947.9 percent increase in the number of COVID-19 cases.

As of Friday morning, 615,806 cases had been identified across the state. On June 3 when the governor made the announcement that bars and pubs could reopen at 50 percent capacity inside and full capacity outside, the state was reporting 58,764 COVID-19 cases – a difference of 557,042.

Under Phase Two, bowling alleys, movie theaters, arcades and auditoriums also were allowed to reopen at 50 percent capacity. But a portion of that plan was short-lived, as DeSantis reversed his decision on bars and ordered them closed again on June 26 when the state was reporting 122,960 cases.

The number of deaths and people hospitalized also are quite different today than when DeSantis decided to reopen the state. On June 3, the state was reporting 2,566 deaths and 10,525 people hospitalized. On Friday, those numbers had jumped to 11,099 deaths and 38,029 people being treated in area hospitals.

In the tri-county area on June 3, there were 39 deaths and 158 people hospitalized. Those numbers have now increased to 320 deaths and 1,331 people requiring some form of hospital care.

On Friday, statistics provided by the Florida Department of Health showed a breakdown of cases across the state:

  • 0-4 age group: (10,377, 2 percent);
  • 5-14 age group: (25,098 cases, 4 percent);
  • 15-24 age group: (90,611 cases, 15 percent);
  • 25-34 age group: (114,959 cases, 19 percent);
  • 35-44 age group: (99,971 cases, 16 percent);
  • 45-54 age group: (97,718 cases, 16 percent);
  • 55-64 age group: (79,735 cases, 13 percent);
  • 65-74 age group: (46,317 cases, 8 percent);
  • 75-84 age group: (26,673 cases, 4 percent); and
  • 85-plus age group: (15,591 cases, 3 percent).

The breakdown of hospitalizations across the state:

  • 0-4 age group: (242, 1 percent);
  • 5-14 age group: (214, 1 percent);
  • 15-24 age group: (961, 3 percent);
  • 25-34 age group: (2,185, 6 percent);
  • 35-44 age group: (3,299, 9 percent);
  • 45-54 age group: (4,867, 13 percent);
  • 55-64 age group: (6,751, 18 percent);
  • 65-74 age group: (7,402, 19 percent);
  • 75-84 age group: (6,955, 18 percent); and
  • 85-plus age group: (5,147, 14 percent).

The breakdown of deaths across the state:

  • 0-4 age group: (0);
  • 5-14 age group: (4);
  • 15-24 age group: (27);
  • 25-34 age group: (72);
  • 35-44 age group: (208);
  • 45-54 age group: (456);
  • 55-64 age group: (1,178);
  • 65-74 age group: (2,301);
  • 75-84 age group: (3,179); and
  • 85-plus age group: (3,532).

The breakdown by day of COVID-19 cases across the state, beginning the day after DeSantis’ Phase Two announcement, is as follows:

  • Thursday, June 4: 60,183, increase of 1,419;
  • Friday, June 5: 61,488, increase of 1,305;
  • Saturday, June 6: 62,758, increase of 1,270;
  • Sunday, June 7: 63,938, increase of 1,180;
  • Monday, June 8: 64,904, increase of 966;
  • Tuesday, June 9: 66,000, increase of 1,096;
  • Wednesday, June 10: 67,371, increase of 1,371;
  • Thursday, June 11: 69,069, increase of 1,698;
  • Friday June 12: 70,971, increase of 1,902;
  • Saturday June 13: 73,552, increase of 2,581;
  • Sunday June 14: 75,568, increase of 2,016;
  • Monday June 15: 77,327, increase of 1,759;
  • Tuesday June 16: 80,109, increase of 2,782;
  • Wednesday June 17: 82,719, increase of 2,610;
  • Thursday June 18: 85,926, increase of 3,207;
  • Friday, June 19: 89,748, increases of 3,822;
  • Saturday, June 20: 93,797, increase of 4,049;
  • Sunday, June 21: 97,291, increase of 3,494;
  • Monday, June 22: 100,217, increase of 2,926;
  • Tuesday, June 23: 103,503, increase of 3,286;
  • Wednesday, June 24: 109,014, increased of 5,511;
  • Thursday, June 25: 114,018, increase of 5,004;
  • Friday, June 26: 122,960, increase of 8,942;
  • Saturday, June 27: 132,545, increase of 9,585;
  • Sunday, June 28: 141,075, increase of 8,530;
  • Monday, June 29: 146,341, increase of 5,266;
  • Tuesday, June 30: 152,434, increase of 6,093;
  • Wednesday, July 1: 158,997, increase of 6,563;
  • Thursday, July 2: 169,106, increase of 10,019;
  • Friday, July 3: 178,594, increase of 9,488;
  • Saturday, July 4: 190,052, increase of 11,458;
  • Sunday, July 5: 200,111, increase of 10,059;
  • Monday, July 6: 206,447, increase of 6,336;
  • Tuesday, July 7: 213,794, increase of 7,347;
  • Wednesday, July 8: 223,783, increase of 9,989;
  • Thursday, July 9: 232,718, increase of 8,935;
  • Friday, July 10: 244,151, increase of 11,433;
  • Saturday, July 11: 254,511, increase of 10,360;
  • Sunday, July 12: 269,811, increase of 15,300;
  • Monday, July 13: 282,435, increase of 12,624;
  • Tuesday, July 14: 291,629, increase of 9,194;
  • Wednesday, July 15: 301,810, increase of 10,181;
  • Thursday, July 16: 315,775, increase of 13,965;
  • Friday, July 17: 327,241, increase of 11,466;
  • Saturday, July 18: 337,569, increase of 10,328;
  • Sunday, July 19: 350,047, increase of 12,478;
  • Monday, July 20: 360,899, increase of 10,347;
  • Tuesday, July 21: 369,834, increase of 9,440;
  • Wednesday, July 22: 379,619, increase of 9,785;
  • Thursday, July 23: 389,868, increase of 10,249;
  • Friday, July 24: 402,312, increase of 12,444;
  • Saturday, July 25: 414,511, increase of 12,199;
  • Sunday, July 26: 423,855, increase of 9,344;
  • Monday, July 27: 432,747, increase of 8,892;
  • Tuesday, July 28: 441,977, increase of 9,230;
  • Wednesday, July 29: 451,423, increase of 9,446;
  • Thursday, July 30: 461,379 increase of 9,956;
  • Friday, July 31: 470,386, increase of 9,007;
  • Saturday, Aug. 1: 480,028, increase of 9,642;
  • Sunday, Aug. 2: 487,132, increase of 7,104;
  • Monday, Aug. 3: 491,884, increase of 4,742;
  • Tuesday, Aug. 4: 497,330, increase of 5,446;
  • Wednesday, Aug. 5: 502,739, increase of 5,409;
  • Thursday, Aug. 6: 510,389, increase of 7,650;
  • Friday, Aug. 7: 518,075, increase of 7,686;
  • Saturday, Aug. 8: 526,577, increase of 8,502;
  • Sunday, Aug. 9: 532,806, increase of 6,229;
  • Monday, Aug. 10: 536,961, increase of 4,155;
  • Tuesday, Aug. 11: 542,792, increase of 5,831;
  • Wednesday, Aug. 12: 550,901, increase of 8,109;
  • Thursday, Aug. 13: 557,137, increase of 6,236;
  • Friday, Aug. 14: 563,285, increase of 6,148;
  • Saturday, Aug. 15: 569,637, increase of 6,352;
  • Sunday, Aug. 16: 573,416, increase of 3,779;
  • Monday, Aug. 17: 576,094, increase of 2,678;
  • Tuesday, Aug. 18: 579,932, increase of 3,928;
  • Wednesday, Aug. 19: 584,047, increase of 4,115;
  • Thursday, Aug. 20: 588,602, increase of 4,555;
  • Friday, Aug. 21: 593,286, increase of 4,684;
  • Saturday, Aug. 22: 597,597, increase of 4,311;
  • Sunday, Aug. 23: 600,571, increase of 2,974;
  • Monday, Aug. 24: 602,829, increase of 2,258;
  • Tuesday, Aug. 25: 605,502, increase of 2,673;
  • Wednesday, Aug. 26: 608,722, increase of 3,220;
  • Thursday, Aug. 27: 611,991, increase of 3,269;
  • Friday, Aug. 28: 615,806, increase of 3,815.

Photos in Ocala, Florida

Crime

Ocala man with adult magazines nabbed for indecent exposure at state park

An Ocala man found himself behind bars recently after allegedly exposing himself to a volunteer park ranger.

Marion sheriff’s deputies pop two men on drug charges after traffic stop

Two men were jailed recently after fleeing from a vehicle following a traffic stop.

Umatilla woman with checkered legal past accused of ripping off Ocala Wal-Mart

A 43-year-old woman was jailed recently after being accused of targeting an Ocala Wal-Mart.

Marion sheriff seeks man in connection with recent home invasion robbery

Marion County sheriff’s detectives are seeking help finding a man sought in connection with a recent home invasion robbery.

Business

Ruby Tuesday adds to growing list of closures along State Road 200

Ruby Tuesday recently closed the doors on its Ocala location, adding to a list of national companies with local closures along State Road 200 that dates back nearly a year.

Sovereigns and Scoundrels opening in former Doc of Rock location in downtown Ocala

Sovereigns and Scoundrels will open its doors at the former Doc of Rock location in downtown Ocala next week.

CareerSource CLM report shows unemployment rate improvement last month

The local unemployment rate improved in August, but is still much higher than it was at this same time last year, according to a new report from CareerSource Citrus Levy Marion.

Waffle House opens new location on Maricamp Road

Waffle House has opened the doors on a new location along Maricamp Road in Marion County.

Subscribe for email updates

* indicates required

Headlines

Ocala man with adult magazines nabbed for indecent exposure at state park

An Ocala man found himself behind bars recently after allegedly exposing himself to a volunteer park ranger.

Marion sheriff’s deputies pop two men on drug charges after traffic stop

Two men were jailed recently after fleeing from a vehicle following a traffic stop.

35 new COVID-19 cases among students and staff at tri-county schools

Thirty-five new COVID-19 cases were reported this past week among students and employees at schools across the tri-county area.

Umatilla woman with checkered legal past accused of ripping off Ocala Wal-Mart

A 43-year-old woman was jailed recently after being accused of targeting an Ocala Wal-Mart.

More headlines