62.3 F
Monday, December 11, 2023

Marion School Board elects new chair, vice-chair for next year

The Marion County School Board elected a new chairwoman and vice-chairwoman during its annual reorganization meeting that was held this week.

On Tuesday evening, board members Nancy Thrower and Lori Conrad were elected as chair and vice-chair of the school board. They were the two lone nominations, and they received unanimous support from their school board peers, Dr. Allison Campbell, Rev. Eric Cummings, and Dr. Sarah James.

Marion County School Board (2023 2024)
Members of the Marion County School Board include (left to right): Chair Nancy Thrower, Vice-Chair Lori Conrad, Dr. Allison Campbell, Rev. Eric Cummings, and Dr. Sarah James.

Thrower was elected to the school board in 2018, and she is currently serving her second four-year term thanks to her re-election in 2022. Representing District Four, she previously served as chairwoman during the 2020-2021 term and vice-chairwoman during the 2019-2020 and 2022-2023 terms.

As chairwoman, Thrower will lead the two monthly school board meetings and year-round work sessions. She also serves on various leadership boards throughout the community.

Conrad joined the school board in 2022 when she was elected to fulfill the remaining two-year term of former member Don Browning. She represents District Two and is a former Golden Apple teacher at the elementary level.

In addition, Conrad serves various school board appointments and will step in as needed should Thrower be absent.

During Tuesday’s meeting, school board members also unanimously approved the same meeting schedule as in years past. The school board meetings will begin at 5 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesdays each month at 1614 E Fort King Street in Ocala.