58 F
Wednesday, January 12, 2022

Horlkins Saget recognized as FHP Trooper of the Year

The Florida Highway Patrol recently recognized its 2020 Trooper of the Year.

On Monday, Governor Ron DeSantis and the Florida Cabinet recognized FHP Trooper Horlkins Saget with the honors.

Horlkins Saget recognized as FHP Trooper of the Year 1
Horlkins Saget is the Florida Highway Patrol’s 2020 Trooper of the Year

According to an FHP press release, this award is given each year to a deserving trooper for their courage, service, and protection to ensure the safety of Floridians and visitors.

Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis sponsored a Cabinet Resolution that honored Saget with the award.

“In my opinion, Florida’s law enforcement officers perform one of the toughest jobs in the world. They respond to the calls, they keep our communities safe, and they run towards danger when others are running away. These brave men and women answer the call 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. During holidays, birthdays, and anniversaries, these heroes are always ready to fight for Floridians. Trooper Saget is no different as he put his own life at risk to protect others, and I could not be more grateful for his selfless service,” Patronis said.

On September 8, 2020, Saget was notified that another trooper was in an active pursuit on I-95, slightly north of Atlantic Avenue. He was in the area, responded, and joined the pursuit.

The male suspect’s vehicle made an abrupt exit from I-95 and proceeded to crash into another vehicle. Due to the heavy damage that was sustained in the crash, the suspect was only able to drive another half-mile before he was forced to exit the vehicle.

The suspect ran into a nearby neighborhood and was carrying a military-style rifle and a semi-automatic handgun.

As troopers continued the pursuit, the suspect opened fire at them. He then ran between two houses and positioned himself to engage with the troopers.

Saget rounded the corner, and the suspect fired a shot that missed. Saget immediately returned fire and struck the suspect which ended the pursuit.

According to FHP, it was later determined that the suspect was wanted for felony warrants and was considered armed and dangerous.

Colonol Gene Spaulding, FHP Director, said, “I am proud to serve with courageous troopers like Trooper Saget who selflessly put their lives on the line every day to protect Floridians.”

The Trooper of the Year award was created in 1965 by the Florida Petroleum Council to recognize FHP troopers for the work they do on a daily basis to keep Florida safe.